Visio 2010 crashing on Windows 7

I’m finding that Visio 2010 (32 bit) is incredibly unstable on Windows 7 (64 bit). It appears to crash every time I shut down Visio. I did a bit of googling, and sure enough lots of other people are having the same problem.

If you are having a similar problem, try disabling the Bluetooth add-in. I never use the “Sent to Bluetooth…” option anyway, so I tried it and now Visio does not crash when I exit.

To disable the Bluetooth add-in, start Visio 2010, go to the File menu, click “Options”, then “Add-Ins”, down the bottom where it says “Manage” make sure COM Add-ins is selected and hit “Go…”. You should see the Bluetooth add-in listed. I unticked it then clicked “Remove”. If you then restart Visio, next time you shut it down it should no longer crash.

Please leave a comment if this worked for you. Smile

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Visio 2010 crashing on Windows 7

  1. DAve says:

    I’ve seen a lot of posts on the web to disable Bluetooth. Unfortunately, I’ve got crashing going on (32bit Visio, 64-bit OS). By default we install no addins so Bluetooth isn’t at issue here. If I find anything out, I’ll post it her

  2. Rod Early says:

    Thanks, Visio 2010 stopped crashing after I disabled the add-in as you said.

  3. AlexKuzCa says:

    Thanks, it fixed Visio crashing on my system.

  4. Rikard says:

    Thank you its worked

  5. Diane says:

    I did not have the bluetooth add-in but I did have an adobe add-in. After I disabled the adobe add-in Visio seems to be working fine now.

    • I also did not have the bluetooth add-in, and found success disabling an adobe add-in. I disabled (i.e. un-checked) the add-in: “PDFMaker for Visio COMAddin”, which resolved the crash-on-close issue. This add-in appears to add an option (“Save as Adobe PDF”) to the File menu (located between “Save As” and “Open”). I can still create PDFs (by: select “Save As” > select PDF from file format dropdown…).

  6. Rajesh D says:

    Thanks for the insight. I had same problem and now that I’ve removed bluetooth, it seems to be working fine!

  7. JoeC says:

    So far this seems to work! Thank you!

  8. Thanks says:

    VIsio was crashing 100% of the time, this has fixed it. Thanks!!!

  9. Jo says:

    Crashing on windows 32 bit. Cannot disable blue tooth function – only IT admin can. Our company uses Visio because “it has always been used”. I am going to turn the boat to use Smartdraw. MS should be ashamed of themselves for launching a product like this.

  10. peterpan says:

    good

  11. Really good! It works 100% for me!

  12. Tyler says:

    Woo hoo! Thank you! This problem kept me from using VIsio as it was just to unstable and this has corrected the problem :).

  13. Michael says:

    Crashing for me too on Windows 7 with Visio 2010 Professional. Mainly using External Data though. Tried to disable Bluetooth Add-IN, but wasn’t installed. So this fix isn’t the issue for me (unfortunately). Will keep trying

  14. Andrew says:

    Fantastic! Great advice that fixed my problem. Thank you!

  15. Allen says:

    THANKS!!! IT WORKED!!! I’m running Visio 2013 and did not have the Bluetooth add-in. But, I did have the “PDFMaker for Visio COM” Addin, which I disabled. Now I am crash-free!!!

Leave a comment