Installing Hyper-V manager on Windows 7 desktop

Today I installed the Windows Server 8 Beta and added the Hyper-V role. This was so that I could have a play with the new Windows 8 IPAM functionality. I’ve create 3 Windows 8 VMs and intend to configure them as follows:

  • A Windows 8 Domain Controller
  • A Windows 8 Member acting as a DNS/DHCP server
  • A Windows 8 member acting as a pure IPAM server

Note: I was originally intending to use VMware ESXi 5.0, but suffered various problems and gave up trying to get that working simply due to lack of time.

So far I have been doing this via remote desktop, but it’s a bit restrictive, so I started looking at remote management capabilities to manage the Hyper-V VMs from my desktop (which is running Windows 7). This is what I have found so far (note, I do not profess to be an expert, but I am posting here what I did in case it is useful to someone else):

First I installed the Windows Remote Server Administration Tools from this link:

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=7887

It’s quite a big download and takes a few minutes to install, and I ended up with a new menu “Start->All Programs->Administrative Tools”, however there’s no mention of the Hyper-V manager. There are two ways to enable it, manually from the command line or graphically via Control Panel.

Enabling Hyper-V Manager from the command line

I typed this into a command prompt:

dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:RemoteServerAdministrationTools /featurename:RemoteServerAdministrationTools-Roles /featurename:RemoteServerAdministrationTools-Roles-HyperV

Enabling Hyper-V from Control Panel

After I had already used the command line, I found out that the Hyper-V manager can be enabled via the Windows Features applet in Control Panel. Simply go to Control Panel->Programs and Features and then select “Turn Windows features on or off”. Expand “Remote Server Administration Tools” then “Role Administration Tools” and then you can simply tick “Hyper-V Tools”.

image

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

