Installing VMware tools on Fedora Core 15

I’m running VMware Workstation 6.5 and it seems with newer and newer guest OSes, installing VMware tools is getting harder and harder!

So, after installing Fedora 15 (I didn’t fancy the 3.x kernel in Fedora 16 just yet), I did an update with yum and loaded on GCC and the kernel development packages as follows:

$ yum update
$ yum install gcc
$ yum install kernel-devel

Now I rebooted to load the latest kernel, and verfied my kernel version with uname:

$ uname -a
Linux bind1.training.acm 2.6.42.3-2.fc15.x86_64 #1 SMP Thu Feb 9 01:42:06 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Now to get the vmware-config-tools.pl script to locate the kernel headers, I had to edit the following file:

/usr/src/kernels/2.6.42.3-2.fc15.x86_64/include/linux/version.h

Your location may be slightly different dependent on the kernel version you are running. I added the following line to match the kernel version I have installed:

#define UTS_RELEASE "2.6.42.3-2.fc15.x86_64"

When I ran vmware-config-tools.pl, because I had edited the version.h file, it now automatically looked in the correct place for the kernel header files. Without editing the version.h file it looks in the wrong (default) location and can’t find them.

I did get a lot of errors and it pretty much failed to compile most if not all of the modules, but the main thing I was after was the mouse handler, and this seems to work fine.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

