Must try harder!

I’ve been trying to get quotes for my car insurance this morning. My renewal seems to have gone up quite a bit so I’ve got a few quotes but found my existing provider is quite competitive.

I noticed my current insurance is underwritten by Aviva, so I have been trying to get a quote from them directly (via Quidco cashback), but their site seems to be so slow that Firefox just gives me an empty page and Internet Explorer says “No internet connection – Diagnose this connection?”.

I’ve been trying for about 30 mins now and given up, they aren’t getting my business! I’ve done a ping and a traceroute and everything is okay at the IP level, so I suspect their web site is either overloaded or they are seeing some abnormal traffic levels. Either way they need to do better! Maybe they should take a look at something like Webscreen, which protects web sites from malicious activity.

Either way, in this day and age of e-commerce, outages like these are unnacceptable, especially with so many solutions available to prevent these kinds of problems occuring.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Must try harder!

  1. Brian says:

    I went with Aviva for house insurance as they were way cheaper than any others but the Quidco £50 cashback hasn’t arrived and I registered a dispute, Aviva issued no documents and I had to phone them after having some difficulty finding a free number for them. Documents wrere available on line as I had ticked the no contact by post box apparently. However I had quite some difficulty registering user and password info so I could access the documentation. Had to phone again to get them to ‘unlock’ me. So I’m not sure about Aviva & Quidco

Leave a Reply

