Hello from Christchurch, New Zealand

We are now in Christchurch on the South Island of New Zealand. We flew out this morning and have lost two hours due to time zone differences. What with the clocks going forward in the UK last weekend, and the NZ clocks going back an hour next weekend, I’m completely confused now about what blimmin’ time it is in the UK! All I know is with the flight taking 3 hours and the loss of 2 hours, today has been a really short day.
 
All we’ve done since we got here was jump on a tram ride around the town and go for a quick walk to see the "Scott of the Antarctic" memorial. They also have a Queen Victoria and Captain Cook memorial, but they are not nearly as emotional. Scott’s sculpture was actually carved by his heartbroken widow – it’s such a sad story of adversity over triumph, rather than the other way around, and I found it profoundly moving standing in front of it.
 
DSC_2594 DSC_2596 DSC_2597 
 
It’s quite a pretty town with parks, a river running through it and loads of classically styled bridges. Lenny says the town reminds her of Oxford.
 
DSC_2600
 
I quite like this road sign…
 
DSC_2602
 
We’re off for a beer soon, then it’ll probably be an early night as we’re going to try and get to the Fox Glacier tomorrow, which will involve driving over the mountains and through Arthur’s Pass (click here for route). I’m looking forward to it as I reckon the scenery will be awesome. I’ve already filled up my digital camera’s memory card so I’m using a spare that Lenny had! I hope she doesn’t want it back because I reckon I’ll fill that too! Open-mouthed
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

