OpenDNS.com – Damn! Why didn’t I think of that?

I just stumbled across a *REALLY* cool site – www.opendns.com.

They provide FREE DNS resolvers that anyone can query. What’s more they are load balanced and made fully resilient using anycast technology. So instead of using your ISP’s somewhat unreliable DNS resolvers, you can configure your broadband router, company firewall/whatever to use opendns.com’s DNS servers instead.

What’s more, they provide a control panel that you can log into that shows you graphs of stats so you can gauge how many lookups are being sent. They’ve also got built in phishing/adult site blocking and it’s all customisable.

What’s really great is that it’s all FREE!

I do DNS day in, day out, and this is such a cool idea I wish I’d thought of it!

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OpenDNS.com – Damn! Why didn’t I think of that?

  1. David says:

    Thanks for the very nice comments!  Feel free to email me if you want to be on our beta list which is mostly people who deal with DNS issues day-in and day-out. 🙂

  2. David says:

    I guess I just made a Live.com account… let\’s see if this says my name in the profile part. :-)-David Ulevitch

  3. Alice says:

    Wow u r a bit sad ennit

Leave a Reply

