Patrick Stewart says “Engage!” – NOT

I forgot to mention, we saw Patrick Stewart at the Gielgud Theatre in MacBeth on Friday. I was really looking forward to it and he did not disappoint. He’s a bit of a hero of mine, having starred as Jean-Luc Picard in Star Trek: TNG, and also being bald (like me!), and also lots of women finding him sexy (apparently) – there’s hope for me yet! Lenny kept telling me not to expect him to come out with lots of Star Trek phrases! It was set in a kind of World War II scenario, so when Banquo was murdered, the murderer shot him with a gun (rather than stabbing him) – I played along with Lenny and said that they should have used a phaser! Ho ho ho!

Anyway, while in Tenerife recently, I studied the play as I never did any Shakespeare at school and I am soooo glad I did. I don’t think I would have had a clue what was going on half the time, but because I did study it I pretty much understood what was happening. There were a couple of scenes that lost me, lots of "chat" in olde English that didn’t make much sense, but on the whole I thoroughly enjoyed it and was glued to the stage.

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

