New TV

Well I bought myself a new TV for the conservatory yesterday. I went for a Panasonic TX-32LXD700 which has had rave reviews in the press. I narrowed my choice down to this and the Sony KDL32D3000, so went into my local John Lewis and had a play. The main thing I noticed was that the Sony was slower at changing channels and it was slower to move around the EPG. On top of this, when you changed channel you got an ugly information bar across the TOP of the picture. In contrast the Panasonic was quicker, the on screen graphics looked nicer and the information bar was across the BOTTOM of the screen, a bit like changing channels on a Sky box. Overall it just seemed a nicer TV, although I did actually prefer the styling of the Sony.

One thing I am disappointed about is that there don’t seem to be any 1080p TV’s at this size (32"). I’ve heard people saying that at this size you won’t notice the difference between 720p and 1080p, but I have a media centre PC I’d like to use with it and it just would have been nice to run that at the full 1080p resolution. No doubt the manufacturers will start coming out with 1080 resolution at this size, if only to keep the hi-def bandwagon rolling.

I pick it up tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

