Belgian Lottery scam (part 3)

I did a bit of research and dug up this horror story (http://419.bittenus.com/AustralianInternationalLottery/index.htm) of some guy who paid over $8000 to a scam artist thinking he had won a similar lottery. It seems these things aren’t about using identity theft to steal from you but simply rely on people’s greed to convince them to make advance payments in the form of "processing fees" etc. in the hope that they will eventually get the hundreds of thousands of dollars promised to them. Why anyone would fall for this I really don’t know and I was quite surprised just how many times this guy paid them money and kept falling for their excuses. It is a common scam known as a "419 con trick" and originated in Nigeria.

There are people that spend their time baiting these scam-artists, and I’ve read some good ones in the past, but to be honest I am thinking now that this will just take up loads of time and I can’t be bothered with it, so I’m just going to chuck the form in the bin and not bother with it.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Belgian Lottery scam (part 3)

  1. coco says:

    It is really very awful. I have just received this Winner E-mail today. And I will delete it soon. Thank you very much for your information!

Leave a Reply

